International Film Festival Rotterdam 2019

International Film Festival Rotterdam
23 January - 3 February 2019

Op 23 januari opent het International Film Festival Rotterdam. Het filmprogramma toont werk van verschillende residents en alumni:

Bright Future Competition

Yashaswini Raghunandan, That Cloud Never Left

Bright Future

Persijn Broersen & Margit Lukács, Forest on Location
Omar A. Chowdhury, Augustijn
Mounir Fatmi, À travers la lune
Arthur Kleinjan, Above Us Only  Sky
Jill Magid, The Proposal
belit sağ, what remains
Pilvi Takala, The Stroker
Rein Jelle Terpstra, Robert F. Kennedy Funeral Train - The People's View

Deep Focus

Praneet Soi, Srinagar


Bea de Visser, The animal that therefore I am

Rotterdam Centraal Station

Sebastián Diaz Morales, Insight

Yashaswini Raghunandan, 'That Cloud Never Left' Yashaswini Raghunandan, 'That Cloud Never Left' Persijn Broersen & Margit Lukács, 'Forest on Location' Persijn Broersen & Margit Lukács, 'Forest on Location' Omar A. Chowdhury, 'Augustijn' Omar A. Chowdhury, 'Augustijn' Mounir Fatmi, 'À travers la lune' Mounir Fatmi, 'À travers la lune' Arthur Kleinjan, 'Above Us Only Sky' Arthur Kleinjan, 'Above Us Only Sky' belit sağ, 'what remains' belit sağ, 'what remains'  Jill Magid, 'The Proposal' Jill Magid, 'The Proposal' Pilvi Takala, 'The Stroker' Pilvi Takala, 'The Stroker' Rein Jelle Terpstra, 'Robert F. Kennedy Funeral Train - The People's View' Rein Jelle Terpstra, 'Robert F. Kennedy Funeral Train - The People's View' Praneet Soi, 'Srinagar' Praneet Soi, 'Srinagar' Bea de Visser, 'The animal that therefore I am' Bea de Visser, 'The animal that therefore I am'

Out of Office - Art in business

Out of Office - art in business
Singer Museum, Laren (NH)
11 december 2018 - 7 april 2019

Under the title Out of Office - art in business, Singer Laren, in collaboration with the Vereniging Bedrijfscollecties Nederland (VBCN), offers an art-historical overview of 75 years of Dutch art from corporate collections.

Participating alumni:

Tjebbe Beekman
Melanie Bonajo
Elspeth Diederix
Gijs Frieling
Folkert de Jong
Gert Jan Kocken
Michael Raedecker
Marie-José Robben
Sarah van Sonsbeeck
Berend Strik
Fiona Tan
Esther Tielemans
Helen Verhoeven
Koen Vermeule
Roy Villevoye
Evi Vingerling

Parallel to Out of Office - art in business, the museum is showing the exhibition RE:Collecting, which includes works by alumni Persijn Broersen & Margit Lukács and Ryan Gander.

publication date 20-12-2018

Tushar Joag (1966-2018)

We are saddened by the news that on Tuesday 18 December 2018 artist-activist and Rijksakademie alumnus Tushar Joag passed away unexpectedly.

Tushar and his wife Sharmila Samant were both residents at the Rijksakademie in 1998 and 1999. After returning to Mumbai, they founded the artist-led initiative 'Open Circle', one of the first platforms of the Rijksakademie Artists Initiatives Network (RAIN). Open Circle (1999-2008) was an artist collective that sought to engage with contemporary socio-political issues via an integration of theory and practice.

Tushar described himself as a public intervention artist. He founded the Public Work Cells, an organisation that worked “to create works of art that seek to make interventions in the urban space, by designing and producing objects that while being functional and aesthetic bring into focus the various concerns of the immediate situation”.

In recent years he taught at Shiv Nadar University of Arts in Greater Noida, where he and Sharmila set up the Masters of Arts programme.

Over the past few weeks, Tushar had been helping to assemble a forum called Artists Unite, which recently issued a statement signed by 450 painters, writers and filmmakers warning that “democracy is not a majoritarian project to identify enemies and enforce uniformity of language, behaviour and culture”. It added, “Democracy is the celebration of a collective will for peace, of living together with dignity and equality.”

Our hearts are with Sharmila, his children Kattyayani & Kashyap, and his family and friends.
Tushar Joag in 2016 (photo Tushar Joag in 2016 (photo

publication date 4-10-2018

Shortlist Future Generation Art Prize 2019

Rijksakademie alumni Monira Al Qadiri (RA 16/17) and Yu Araki (guestresident in 2018) are shortlisted for the fith edition of the Future Generation Art Prize.

The Future Generation Art Prize is a biannual global contemporary art prize open to all artists aged 35 or younger from anywhere in the world, working in any medium. Shortlisted artists will be commissioned to create new works on view in exhibitions at the PinchukArtCentre in Kyiv (1 February - 14 April) and the Venice Biennale (9 May - September 2019).

The Future Generation Art Prize 2019 Award Ceremony will take place in March 2019.

publication date 6-3-2018

Em’kal Eyongakpa receives Henrike Grohs Art Award

Rijksakademie alumnus Em’kal Eyongakpa (born 1981 in Mamfe, Cameroon) is the first recipient of the Henrike Grohs Art Award, conceived by the Goethe-Institut and the Grohs family. He will be awarded with a € 20.000 cash prize on 13 March 2018 in Abidjan.

The jury states: “The jury unanimously awards the inaugural Henrike Grohs Art Award to Em’kal Eyongakpa for his poetic, subtle and subjective approach. His work expresses universal concerns of humanity. The multidisciplinary stance of his practice that includes knowledge derived from science, ethnobotany, magical realism, experimentation and utopia, aptly responds to the core values of the Henrike Grohs Art Award.”

The Henrike Grohs Art Award is a biennial prize dedicated to artists who are living and working in Africa and practicing in the field of visual arts. It recognises the lifetime achievements of the former Head of the Goethe-Institut in Abidjan, Henrike Grohs, who was killed on 13 March 2016 in a terrorist attack in Grand-Bassam, Côte d’Ivoire.

Klaus-Dieter Lehmann, President of the Goethe-Institut: “We have not only lost a highly esteemed and beloved colleague in Henrike Grohs but also a person who carried hope into the world with her beliefs and actions. Therefore, it is of particular importance to link the memory of Henrike Grohs to a viewpoint that reflects her work and desires. This has come to fruition in the prize, as it promotes the cause of Henrike Grohs: To support African creative artists and make a contribution towards international dialogue. I would like to congratulate the first prize winner Em’kal Eyongakpa with whom, after an intensive selection process, the judges have made an excellent choice.”

Jury members

- Koyo Kouoh (Artistic Director, RAW Material Company, Dakar)
- Laurence Bonvin (artist and representative of the Grohs family, Berlin)
- Raphael Chikukwa (Chief Curator, National Gallery of Zimbabwe, Harare)
- Simon Njami (Curator, Paris)

More information

Em'kal Eyongakpa
Henrike Grohs Award