publication date 7-7-2016

Rijksakademie announces artists Residency 2017

Today the Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten in Amsterdam announces which 20 artists were selected from the more than 1,400 entries for the coveted residencies in 2017.
The Rijksakademie contributes to the development and renewal of the artistic practice by carefully selecting talented and ambitious artists for a work period. This two-year program offers artists theoretical, technical and artistic facilities. Research into, experimentation with, and development of the work are central aspects in the programme. The new group, consisting of 10 Dutch and 10 foreign artists, joins the 25 artists who started their residency in 2016.

The selection committee consists of internationally renowned artists and professionals who are attached to the Rijksakademie and act as advisors. The advisors guide and coach the artists during their residency through studio visits and theoretical guidance.

The artists of the 2017 residency year:

Tyna Adebowale (NG)
Isabelle Andriessen (NL)
Esteban Cabeza de Baca (US)
CHE Onejoon (KR)
Gaëlle Choisne (FR)
Anna Dasovic (NL)
Danielle Dean (GB/US)
Maurice van Es (NL)
Ana Maria Gómez López (CO/US/DE)
Ceel Mogami de Haas (NL/CH)
Femke Herregraven (NL)
Polina Kanis (RU)
Arvo Leo (CA)
Jenny Lindblom (SE/NL)
Laura O’Neill (GB)
Josse Pyl (BE/NL)
Nora Turato (HR/NL)
Kubilay Mert Ural (TR)
Riet Wijnen (NL)
Marieke Zwart (NL)

The artists of 2017 were announced during the annual Vriendenkring Summer Lunch. The Rijksakademie Vriendenkring (Circle of Friends) is composed of individuals, funds and companies who make substantial contributions to the Rijksakademie. They are actively involved in the institute and the artists who work there.

The Rijksakademie is funded by the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, the Mondriaan Fund, the City of Amsterdam and through the Trust Fund Rijksakademie.