publication date 4-7-2018

Rijksakademie announces artists Residency 2019

Today the Rijksakademie van beeldende kunsten in Amsterdam announces which 22 artists were selected from 1,693 entries for the Rijksakademie Residency 2019.

The Rijksakademie contributes to the development and renewal of the artistic practice by carefully selecting talented and ambitious artists for a work period. This two-year program offers artists theoretical, technical and artistic facilities. Research into, experimentation with, and development of the work are central aspects in the programme. The new group joins the 25 artists who started their residency in 2018.

The selection committee consists of internationally renowned artists and professionals who are attached to the Rijksakademie and act as advisors. The advisors guide and coach the artists during their residency through studio visits and theoretical guidance.

The artists of the 2019 residency year:

Özgür Atlagan (TR)
Salim Bayri (MA/NL)
Sara Culmann (RU)
Tanja Engelberts (NL)
Aldo Esparza Ramos (NL/MX)
Lotte van Geijn (NL)
Catalina González (CL)
Lungiswa Gqunta (ZA)
Artor Jesus Inkerö (FI)
Donghwan Kam (KR/NL)
Arturo Kameya (PE/NL)
Özgür Kar (TR/NL)
Yazan Khalili (JO/PS)
Sheng-Wen Lo (TW/NL)
Georgia Lucas-Going (UK/NG)
Silvia Martes (NL)
Ima-Abasi Okon (UK)
Ian Page (US)
Molly Palmer (UK)
Eoghan Ryan (IE)
Mette Sterre (NL)
Kanitha Tith (KH)

The artists of 2019 were announced during the annual Friends Summer Lunch. The Rijksakademie Circle of Friends is composed of individuals, funds and companies who make substantial contributions to the Rijksakademie. They are actively involved in the institute and the artists who work there.

The Rijksakademie is funded by the Ministry of Education, Culture and Science, the City of Amsterdam and through the Trust Fund Rijksakademie.
Photo Tomek Dersu Aaron Photo Tomek Dersu Aaron