publication date 15-5-2017

Rolling Snowball/8 - Homecoming


Rolling Snowball/8 - Xiamen
Three Shadows Xiamen Photography Art Centre
Xiamen, CN
20 May - 18 June 2017

2017 marks the 20th anniversary of the establishment of the Consulate General of the Kingdom of the Netherlands in Guangzhou. In celebration of this meaningful occasion, CEAC, as the most important anchor point for the promotion of Dutch culture in Southeast China, has curated and organized the 8th edition of "Rolling Snowball", co-hosted by Three Shadows Xiamen Photography Art Centre, to deepen the cultural exchange between China and the Netherlands through contemporary art.

Since 1999, the Chinese European Art Center, deeply rooted in its home base on the subtropical island of Xiamen, has served as a home away from home to more than 300 artists and creative professionals from all around the world. For 18 years, CEAC has been fortunate to be a part of the life-changing, perception-altering journeys of some of the world’s most brilliant creative minds. Witnessing the familiar becomes unfamiliar and vice versa for those who engage in CEAC’s work, it was decided from the very beginning that liberation, transformation and growth through inter-cultural dialogues are at the core of CEAC’s organizational mission.

Titled "Homecoming", the 8th edition of "Rolling Snowball" discusses the form of existence and aesthetic significance of the concepts of home and returning home, exploring the aesthetics of "elsewhere". 

Participating Rijksakademie alumni and advisors

Juliaan Andeweg
Josefin Arnell
Mercedes Azpilicueta
Persijn Broersen & Margit Lukács
Pauline Curnier Jardin
Marije Gertenbach
Sigurdur Gudmundsson (advisor)
Tamar Harpaz
Yang Jian
Paul Kooiker
Katrin Korfmann
Marjan Laaper
Meiya Lin
Aernout Mik (advisor)
Christine Moldrickx
Fahrettin Orenli
Marike Schuurman
Eva Spierenburg
Fiona Tan
Robbert Weide
Guido van der Werve
Kan Xuan
Sylvie Zijlmans
Ton Zwerver
Juliaan Andeweg Juliaan Andeweg Josefin Arnell Josefin Arnell Mercedes Azpilicueta Mercedes Azpilicueta Persijn Broersen & Margit Lukács Persijn Broersen & Margit Lukács Pauline Curnier Jardin Pauline Curnier Jardin Marije Gertenbach Marije Gertenbach Tamar Harpaz Tamar Harpaz Yang Jian Yang Jian Paul Kooiker Paul Kooiker Katrin korfmann Katrin korfmann Katrin Korfmann Katrin Korfmann Marjan Laaper Marjan Laaper Meiya Lin Meiya Lin Christine Moldrickx Christine Moldrickx Fahrettin Örenli Fahrettin Örenli Marike Schuurman Marike Schuurman Eva Spierenburg Eva Spierenburg Fiona Tan Fiona Tan Robbert Weide Robbert Weide Guido van der Werve Guido van der Werve Sylvia Zijlmans Sylvia Zijlmans Ton Zwerver Ton Zwerver